top of page

The cries of a broken-hearted girl (by Belinda R Dhlamini)


Why do we chase away the people we love?

Why do we treat them like they are not important, when they clearly are?

Why do we pretend like we don't like each other, like being in each other's presence is pain, when deep down all we want to do is to be as impossibly close to each other as we can?

Why didn't you say I'm sorry when you had the chance, because maybe, just maybe, that's all I needed from you?


How do we save this love that seems broken beyond repair?

How do I go about fixing my heart that you broke, and you're not even aware that you broke it?

How can I even blame you for breaking my heart when you weren't mine to begin with?

How do I swallow my pride, and admit I made a mistake, that I want you back in my life?

How do I say I'm sorry?

How do I say I miss you?


Maybe I should have tried to understand you better.

Maybe I should have fought harder to keep what we had.

Maybe I was the wrong one for you, simply not your type.

Maybe I wasn't up to your standards; you wanted a pretty girl, cool with a lot of fancy dresses, and I'm neither of those things.

But what if I tried so hard to be what you wanted, couldn't you see it?


We both said stuff we can't take back.

We both tried to inflict the maximum amount of pain on the other.

We both wanted the other to hurt the most and miss the other the most.

Well then, loved one, I guess we succeeded, or worse, you succeeded.

Because I miss you.

And I realize now that your abusive words were better than this silence.

Because when I had your abusive words, at least I had part of you.

Because having at least a quarter of you was better than not having you at all.

86 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page