top of page

Young Achiever: Chioniso Vimbayi Tsikisayi


The month of March was an exciting one, one of the highlights being getting the opportunity to conduct a short interview with Chioniso.


Chioniso Speaks!


Q. In a few words, describe who you are and what you have been up to.

A. I am a spoken word artist, writer, singer and storyteller from Bulawayo, Zimbabwe.


Q. What has been the highlight of your journey so far?

A. Travelling to Kenya for Poetry Slam Africa, and being crowned first runner-up as well as having my poetry published in Brittle Paper, a notable African Literary Magazine. Alongside that, I have had the pleasure of having one of my short stories featured in the Intwasa Short Stories Anthology volume 2.


Q. What challenges have you faced so far in your journey?

A. Remaining motivated and disciplined in an atmosphere that's not really conducive to artistic growth. It seems like there is a glass ceiling when it comes to heights of what a creative can achieve in Zimbabwe. The goal is to crossover into the international community and not to just grow content with being known by your immediate circle of friends and family on the local scene.


Q. How have you dealt with the challenges that have come your way?

A. It's a mental game more than anything. Cliché, as it sounds, I look to God and prayer to keep me grounded emotionally and spiritually. I sign up for as many workshops as I can to learn new things and ways to perfect my craft and hone my skills. Practice doesn't always make perfect, but it does guarantee improvement. In rooms, whether small or big, if I have been given the opportunity to perform, I treat the audience as though they are an Oscar audience or a Grammy audience and give them the very best of myself. It's a work ethic I have committed myself to over the years to always show up as the highest possible version of myself and to be consistent in delivering excellence every time.


Q. What is it that keeps you going?

A. It's the intrinsic desire within me. Poetry comes as natural as breathing, so in essence it's a vital part of me. I keep going because it's who I am, and if I stopped, I would feel very purposeless. Part of the beauty of this gift is being able to share it with others. And nothing brings me more joy than that.


Q. What advice would you give to other young people who would like to occupy the same spaces as you?

A. Start where you are. I'm sure we've all heard that before, but it's true. If you wait for the right person or moment or thing to come along, whether it's wardrobe, make-up, money etc.. you'll never begin. Discipline leads to action, and consistent action leads to more discipline. So when you begin with the little that you have over time, that little will accumulate to that much more. Also, be kind to yourself and others.


Q. What are your social media handles?

A. Twitter @chichicelest

Instagram @chichi_celest

YouTube Chioniso Tsikisayi

From the moment I spotted Chioniso's Instagram page, I knew she had the fire in her to break and set trends in the art industry. Her journey has inspired me and hopefully, someone else will share the same experience. Please follow her on Instagram and Twitter and subscribe to her YouTube Channel. There is no better way to wrap up women's month than to celebrate the strides being made by other women. Cheers Chioniso Vimbayi Tsikisayi : )

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page